Inner Mongolia University

Inner Mongolia University (IMU), founded in 1957, was established by China’s Ministry of Education as one of China’s key universities in 1978, and is also the only key national-level university in the Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region. In 1997, the University became one of China’s one hundred “211 project” universities for key construction and development. The University is located in the capital city of Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region, Hohhot, a city with a long history and rich culture beyond the Great Wall. Hohhot has a very pleasant climate (mild winters and cool summers) and is conveniently located only six hundred kilometers away from the capital, Beijing, 10 hours by train and 40 minutes by plane. Inner Mongolia University is a comprehensive university where courses of study in philosophy, economics, law, literature, history, science, engineering, agronomy, management and other disciplines can all be found in one place. Mongolian Studies (which currently has its own College), and Life Sciences are two disciplines that have distinctive ethnic characteristics and regional characteristics applying specifically to Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region. The school currently has 17 colleges, 59 undergraduate programs, 13 double-degree undergraduate choices and 20 doctorate-level disciplines. Master's level degrees can be obtained in 100 authorized disciplines.At present, the school enrollment is approximately 20,000 students including about 500 international students from different nations.